KBI PI Licensing Verification
Helpful Hints



What are the requirements to become a licensed private detective in Kansas?

  • You must be at least 21 years old, a citizen of the United States and of good moral character.
  • Graduated from high school or a GED certificate.
  • No felony convictions. No misdemeanors convictions within the past 10 years.
  • That you are not incompetent, incapacitated or impaired by reason of mental condition, deficiency or disease.
  • Not addicted to, dependent on or abusive of alcohol or a controlled substance.
  • All Private Detectives must have a $100,000 corporate surety bond, or general liability insurance providing $100,000 of coverage for bodily injury or property damage caused by negligence and errors or omissions, or deposit $100,000 with the State Treasurer.
  • Must pass an open book examination on the Private Detective Licensing Act.
  • Must pass a background investigation.
back to top

How do I get an application to become a licensed private detective in Kansas?

To obtain an application packet, send a written request (include your name and full mailing address) with a $15.00 (check or money order) to:

Kansas Bureau of Investigation
Private Detective Licensing

1620 SW Tyler
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1837

or call
The Private Detective Licensing Unit
785-296-4436
to bill the application packet fee on your Visa or MasterCard credit card.

back to top

What do I submit with my application?

  • Completed application(s):
    • Private Detective application - includes five Certificates of Reference
    • Private Detective agency application (if applicable)
    • Firearm permit application (if applicable) and firearms training sheet
  • Request for badge and case (if applicable)
  • Completed examination on the Private Detective Licensing Act.
  • Two colored, front view, photographs taken within 30 days of the date of application.
  • Two applicant fingerprint cards. Rolled prints must be classifiable.
  • Proof of insurance or surety bond.
    Note: All Private Detectives or Private Detective Agencies must have a $100,000 corporate surety bond, or general liability insurance providing $100,000 of coverage for bodily injury or property damage caused by negligence and errors or omissions, or deposit $100,000 with the State Treasurer.
  • Applicable fee(s).
  • Current drivers license
  • Copy of naturalization papers (if applicable)
  • Diploma, certificate, transcript or other verification of education/training
  • Form DD214 (Military Record)
back to top

Who licenses Private Detectives in Kansas and is the license reciprocal with other states?

Private Detectives are licensed by the Kansas Attorney General through the Kansas Bureau of Investigation. There is no reciprocity with other states.

back to top