For Immediate Release Jan. 10, 2004
Nicole Corcoran - 785.368.8500 Communications Director

Governor Sebelius Forms Strategic Military Planning Commission

Today, Governor Kathleen Sebelius announced the membership and duties of the Governor's Strategic Military Planning Commission, which she originally talked about during the State of the State address in mid-January.
"Our military bases contribute over $2 billion a year to the Kansas economy and results in tens of thousands of jobs in Kansas. Our military presence-dating back more than 170 years-is part of the heritage of this great state," said Governor Sebelius.

She explains, "This Commission will be responsible for coordinating the efforts to prevent the closure or downsizing of Kansas' military facilities, maximizing our input into the BRAC process, working to protect the interests of the communities adjacent to the bases, encouraging the relocation of military missions to Kansas and mitigating the effects of any reduction in military civilian personnel."

The Commission is a shared collaborative effort between the administration, key legislators, all members of the Kansas Congressional delegation and key business and military leaders representing the Kansas base communities of Leavenworth, Junction City, Wichita and Topeka. Lt. Governor and Secretary of Commerce John Moore will serve as Chair of the Commission. John Armbrust, Manhattan, will serve as Executive Director of the effort. Armbrust currently serves as Vice President of the Manhattan Chamber of Commerce and retired from the Air Force as a full Colonel in 1993.

The Governor's Commission will include the following military and community leaders:

Adj. General (appointed) Col. Tod Bunting
Senator Pat Roberts
Senator Sam Brownback
Congressman Dennis Moore
Congressman Jerry Moran
Congressman Jim Ryun
Congressman Todd Tiahrt
Speaker of the House Doug Mays
State Representative Jim Ward
State Senator Lana Oleen
State Senator Mark Gilstrap
Lt. General Robert Arter (ret), Leavenworth
Dean Campbell, Manhattan
Lt. General Michael L. Dodson (ret), Manhattan
Charlie Gregor, Leavenworth
Doug Kinsinger, Topeka
Jim Maag, Topeka
Steve Martens, Wichita
John Montgomery, Junction City
Mike Schilling, Manhattan
Andrew Schlapp, Wichita
Robin Spurrier, Wichita
Tom Throne, Leavenworth


Close Window