News from
The Adjutant General's Department

Kansas Army National Guard
Kansas Air National Guard
Kansas Emergency Management

Joy D. Moser
Director, Public Affairs Office
Work: (785) 274-1192

No. 03-006


Twenty Kansas Air National Guardsmen participated in the Honor Guard formation of troops during the 64th Kansas inauguration ceremony held Monday, Jan. 13 on the south steps of the Kansas Statehouse. They were drawn from squadrons of the 190th Air Refueling Wing, Forbes Field, Topeka.

The Air National Guard element was part of the formation of troops reviewed by Gov. Kathleen Sebelius in her role as commander in chief of the Kansas National Guard. The formation of troops also included an element from the Kansas Army National Guard and troopers from the Kansas Highway Patrol.

“This is the first time that I have served as the officer in charge of this element of the Honor Guard,” said 2nd Lt. Jennifer Kern Jellison. “I am excited to be involved in the inauguration event. In my civilian job I am a state employee so I was honored and consider it a privilege to be a part of the inauguration. The camaraderie among the Army National Guard, the Highway Patrol, and the Air National Guard was great.”

Kansas Air National Guard members of the Honor Guard in addition to Jellison were:

Chief Master Sgt. Bob Shows, Berryton; Staff Sgt. Jake Urban and Senior Airman Tosha Modde, both of Carbondale; Senior Airman Matt Glen, Lebo; Senior Airman Sam Bieber, Manhattan; Master Sgt. Joe Ginzel; Osage City; Staff Sgt. Richard Hurla, Paxico; Airman 1st Class James Whisenhunt, Redfield; Tech. Sgt. Gordy Cole, Tech. Sgt. Chris Cummings, Tech. Sgt. Lisa Everett, Master Sgt. Ron Justvig, Senior Airman Dennis Lane, Senior Airman Mario Neal, Master Sgt. Chris Noe, Staff Sgt. Jason Piper, Senior Airman Davis Salinas, Senior Airman Ellisha Smith, all of Topeka; and Tech. Sgt. Russ Dunn, Cedar Rapids, Iowa.


Close Window